Being arrested and charged with drug possession in Minnesota is a serious offense. You don’t have to be in actual possession of drugs to be charged with an offense. Simply being able to reach them, which the law interprets as the drugs being under your control, is enough cause for the arresting officer.
When you’re facing a legal battle in the Minnesota, courtroom because you’re accused of having a controlled substance, call the reliable attorneys at Migala Law Office. With more than a decade of experience providing aggressive litigation to Minnesota residents, our drug crimes lawyers has the skills to mount a successful defense.
Under Minnesota law, drugs are placed into five classifications based on the type and amount held and come with a specific set of consequences. These classifications encompass all drugs but, if you’re in possession of less than 42.5 grams of marijuana, it’s considered a petty misdemeanor and carries a $200 fine and drug education requirements. Other classifications are:
First-degree drug possession: The most serious of Minnesota’s drug offenses, first degree is a felony offense and, if convicted, you could face up to 40 years in prison and $1 million in fines.
Although not as serious, second degree is still a felony and carries up to 25 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.
Another felony charge, if you’re convicted of drug possession in the third degree, you could face up to 20 years in prison and a $250,000 fine.
This charge only applies to hallucinogens such as LSD and takes the dosage into account. If you’re arrested in possession of 10 or more doses, you could be charged with a felony, face up to 15 years in prison and $100,000 in fines.
Any drug not specified in the first through fourth drug classifications fall under fifth degree. Although it’s the least serious of the five, you still face five years in prison and $10,000 in fines.